I Simply Want To Build

It all started when I saw a mud house project at school. I was only five years old, and I remember being astounded. The mud house was about the height of a red-paint bucket, had a green aluminium roof, and had four rooms with orange bulbs dangling from the roof each. I took turns with my classmates flipping the bulb switches, our excitement going through the roof anytime the orange light came on.

This project sparked my curiosity so much that I decided to build my own. I spent the majority of my childhood and adolescence attempting to do so. I recall spending the money I received for my 16th birthday on building materials (cardboard, gum, cartons, and so on).

I tried numerous times to replicate the mud house project, but I always failed. It's either that I couldn't figure out how to make it work or that I ran out of resources to do so.

When I was 18, I became interested in programming. A friend recommended it to me. He told me I could build things with it. I was intrigued because I had always wanted to build something. I resolved to find out how I could do so.

I've spent the last five years of my life learning and building websites. I adore the fact that I can build anything I want using only my PC. I am no longer limited by how many resources I can obtain, but rather by how much I can imagine. Every day, I jump out of bed, eager to explore my world of limitless possibilities.

Not only do I want to build things, but I also want to build them well. This motivates me to learn about a variety of programming languages, frameworks, and software development domains. I currently have experience with frontend development, backend development, mobile app development, and DevOps.

Programming inspired me to create software, but I still want to do more. I'm hoping that one day I'll be able to build my mud house project.

I love creating things. Let's talk about it if that's something you're interested in.

Twitter - @drayfocus

LinkedIn - Ayomide Akinola

Cheers!